The Power of the Banana

For me, one of the biggest hurdles I face with healthy eating is telling the fat kid who loves cake inside to pipe down when she’s begging me to face-dive into some type of wonderful, refined sugary, highly fatty, covered in molten chocolate goodness. But once I give her an inch, she takes a mile and my healthy eating habits start to get all out of whack. I’ll start craving unhealthy sugary sweets at night and won’t stop until I get my fix. (Sweet treat junkie, perhaps?) During one on-the-prowl-for-bad-foods evening, however, I found a way to subside my cravings with a banana, fat free Cool Whip and sugar-free Hershey’s chocolate syrup. The sweetness of the banana combined with the cold, liquid made me feel like I was back in Ocean City during the summer at The Candy Kitchen enjoying one of their 5,000+ calorie banana splits. With my little concoction, I cut down tons of the calories and fat from removing the ice cream component, using fat-free whipped topping and sugar-free chocolate syrup.

Since my virgin banana dessert, I’ve come up with a couple of other recipes that are low in fat and calories but high in flavor. (NOTE: Bananas are high in sugar so it’s important to keep portion sizes in mind. I usually yield 1-2 bananas per recipe, depending on what I’m having.)

Dirty Banana – This one is fairly simple and similar to the dessert above. Put 1 banana, chopped, into a bowl. Scoop 1 prepackaged Jell-O Mousse Temptations cup (I prefer Milk or Dark Chocolate but use whatever your heart desires) into the bowl. Stir the banana and mousse together and mangia!

Banana Bread – I’m not a big baker (you can read the full story here) but this recipe is fairly simple, only 0.2 grams of fat and 1 WeightWatcher’s Plus Point. It’s also great for eating in the morning or at night.

Either way, you can’t go wrong with a banana. Remember to calculate your serving sizes and not to over-indulge on your sweet treats.

Have a low-cal, low fatΒ  banana dessert recipe? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “The Power of the Banana

Leave a Reply

