Hair Color Chameleon Takes On At-Home Hair Color

An update to yesterday’s post:

After work, I picked up a bottle of L’Oréal Paris Healthy Look Color Crème in 5G medium golden brown. I was going back and forth with having my hair professionally colored or not. And truth be told, I decided to do it myself for the following reasons:

  1. It was a less expensive alternative.
  2. Whenever I’ve colored my hair in the past, I’ve always gotten a color I liked/wanted. Paying $70+ to get in done professionally doesn’t always lead to these results.
  3. I liked that the Healthy Look Color Crème was ammonia-free.
  4. If I screwed up my hair color, I could only blame myself.
  5. I had coupons for this particular brand.

So how did it turn out? I actually like it a lot! It’s a little more brownish red with golden undertones but that was to be expected. Also, the color is warm and not too dark against my skin. It also picked up a lot of my natural highlights as well as turning my platinum highlights a pretty golden color. I went with a color that had golden undertones to open my hair cuticle up so my hair wouldn’t turn green. Also, choosing a color with golden undertones can generally mean there’s red in the color and that’s not necessarily a bad thing for someone who had their hair bleached. The red helps put color pigments back into the hair thus helping to avoid stripping or that ugly green tinge caused by going light to dark.

One con: When I dried and styled my hair last night, my roots looked a little brassy but again, that was to be expected. I decided to wash my hair again this morning and that helped tone down my roots considerably.

My hair feels soft and is really shiny. I will suggest to those who color treat their hair as often as I do picking up a good shampoo and conditioner with organic antioxidants. I use Organix Ever Straight Brazilian Keratin Therapy shampoo and conditioner. It tones down my fly-aways, smooths my hair and is soft to the touch.

I’ll post a picture over the weekend!

2 thoughts on “Hair Color Chameleon Takes On At-Home Hair Color

Leave a Reply

